The Lemmers Lynns
Lachine, Quebec, Canada
Bienvenue! / Welcome!

South America / Antarctic Cruise 2004
Introduction

On these pages we offer some memories of a 21 day cruise that we took in January / February 2004 from Santiago, Chile around the south end of South America to Rio de Janeiro, with a side trip to the Antarctic Peninsula.

The Itinerary
Cruise map The itinerary started and ended at our home cities in Canada, as follows:
Jan. 27, Tuesday: Depart Canada
Jan. 28, Wednesday: Santiago, Chile (bus tour)
Jan. 29, Thursday: Valparaiso, Chile (the port of Santiago - bus tour)
Jan. 30, Friday: At sea
Jan. 31, Saturday: Puerto Montt, Chile (visit the Lake District)
Feb. 1, Sunday: Puerto Chacabuco, Chile (visit National Park)
Feb. 2-3, Monday - Tuesday: Chilean Fjords
Feb. 4, Wednesday: Punta Arenas, Chile (visit a Chilean sheep ranch)
Feb. 5, Thursday: Ushuaia, Argentina (catamaran / bus tours of local flora / fauna)
Feb. 6, Friday: Cape Horn & the Drake Passage
Feb. 7-9, Saturday - Monday: Antarctic Peninsula (American scientists visit from Palmer Station)
Feb. 10, Tuesday: At sea
Feb. 11, Wednesday: Port Stanley, Falkland Islands (visit Bluff Cove penguin rookery)
Feb. 12-13, Thursday - Friday: At sea
Feb. 14, Saturday: Buenos Aires, Argentina (city tour and cattle ranch visit)
Feb. 15, Sunday: Montevideo, Uruguay (visit historic Colonia del Sacramento)
Feb. 16-17, Monday - Tuesday: At sea
Feb. 18, Wednesday: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (free day, evening dinner / samba tour)
Feb. 19, Thursday: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (city bus tour, to airport)
Feb. 20, Friday: Home to Canada (the Maritimers to a metre of snow!)

The Tour
Craig brochure The tour was organized by Craig Travel in Toronto, who took care of every detail including air, cruise, day trips, taxes, tips, travel insurance, visas, entry tax, etc., etc., etc. Owners David and Roslyn Craig acted as tour directors for this tour celebrating the 35th anniversary of Craig Travel, for which over 200 people signed up. Very well done!

On guided tours like this, the opportunities to take photos tend to be more restricted than on a self-drive tour. On the other hand, we got to places we would probably never have seen on our own, so we hope the photos we got will give at least some flavour of the areas visited.

The photos are organized in pages, with miniature photos on the page. You can pick any of the photos that interest you to see a larger version. The larger versions are sized for a height of 400 pixels, which about fills an 800 x 600 screen. If your screen is set for a higher resolution the photos will not fill the screen.

All that said, we hope you enjoy the stuff we have put on this site. If you have any questions or comments, send us an email at wblynn@sympatico.ca or marglynn@sympatico.ca.

| Introduction | | Santiago | | Valparaiso | | Puerto Montt |
| Puerto Chacabuco | | Punta Arenas | | Ushuaia | | Antarctica |
| Falkland Islands | | Buenos Aires | | Montevideo | | Rio de Janeiro |
| MS Amsterdam |

| The Lemmers Lynns |